Opening Day April 30, 2016
New Hours for 2016
Open April 30-September 30
Welcome to the Lovells Historical Museums and the Lovells Township Historical Society
The success of the August 1990 Heritage Days Celebration gave birth to the Lovells Township Historical Society.
The community expressed a desire to preserve and promote the history of the area. That aspiration brought together people seeking a way to display and protect the artifacts, documents, photos and memories of Lovells.
Rudolph Pallone's 1991 gift to the Society of the one room log Lone Pine Schoolhouse, constructed in 1906 by James Kellogg and Gustav Ernst, became the first big project of the Lovells Township Historical Society.
With help from the community the historic building was moved to the township property and renovations began in the summer of 1991. Once completed, the building was used to house and exhibit the history of Lovells Township.
The Lone Pine Schoolhouse Museum continues to showcase the heritage and memories of the Lovells area.
A second museum building was constructed in 2001. This new log building is the home of the Lovells Museum of Trout Fishing History, Michigan's ONLY trout fishing history museum. We not only focus on trout fishing in the Lovells area and on the North Branch of the AuSable River, but trout fishing throughout Michigan.
The Lovells Township Historical Society not only operates the two museums, but also presents a number of programs and events throughout the year, both at the museums and throughout the community. The LTHS is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.